Why I give free advice…

A few times a week someone asks me about something related to computers or technology. I like answering the questions for several reasons, and I give advice for free for one very good reason.

First: I like answering because it’s an exercise for the brain. It makes me take all my knowledge and apply it to a specific instance with its own parameters and limitations. Second, if I do not know the answer off the top of my head, I am forced to find out by doing a quick search or two and reading what has been written by experts and people much more familiar with the matter. Thus, it expands my knowledge base.

The single “very good reason” for giving the advice free is simple: Having no vested interest in either selling them a product nor my services, I can give advice free of bias. I do admit my bias toward products I think work well, but I would imagine that would be a desirable bias. If I gravitate toward ease of use or advanced features I can adjust for the sophistication of the person asking. If a product has both ease of use chops and advanced features either buried or easily accessed, it makes my job easier. However, one of my first questions is: What is your budget? That let’s me know whether to recommend an open source application/hardware platform or a competent commercial application.

Either way, If the person is very technologically naïve can let them know if they’re on the right track, and steer them toward resources so that if and when they spend money or allocate resources, they can feel more confident doing so.

BTW Sis: the answer currently is a WD Live box… but that is subject to revision next product release cycle.

Leave a Reply

