Tech News Doesn’t Stop When I Have Other Things to Do

Unfortunately, I might have bigger fish than CSS3 to fry soon. In the past week I heard about Google spying on people, even those in private mode (I would link to the video, but Google has apparently buried it since the station reporting it uses Google for their search and video); Facebook arguing in court that everyone is “Famous” to their friends so they can use your pictures and name in advertisements; another security flaw that makes 4 out of every 1000 RSA certs easy to crack; Nortel networks that were completely pwned by chinese hackers for a decade, recycled botnet code repurposed for stealing passwords, SoNet’s inflated user number (not a surprise — about 50% of the social network accounts are fake or unused), the Megaupload seizure, and the list goes on! Much of that I read on Ars.

The interesting thing about the Google story is that a person interviewed for the report said that to Google, its users are the product… hmmm, someone I know wrote that a few months back, hehe. (Sadly, not many saw it because it was rejected by Dice.) Anyway, I still have to write my Apps o’ Fame list, but I’m not sure whether to submit it and wait for a month or two or just post it here without editing or delay. (Thus why this update is posted here.)

Leave a Reply

